USSSA Another infield fly question

Discussion in 'Ask the Umpire' started by Dan240, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. Dan240

    Dan240 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    33
    scenario: 1 out, runners on 1st & 2nd. Team gets held, play another inning, team scores a run, game over. Batter pops up short of 1st base. 1st baseman is playing deep and runs in for it. Runners start to go. Ump calls infield fly, 1st baseman can’t get to it before it drops. Scoops it off the bounce & throws to 2nd base. The SS catches the throw tags second. The base runner stop 4ft from the bag. SS tags the runner. Batting team stars to walk off the field figuring it’s out number 3.

    Umpire says the batter is out, but no out at 2nd since the bag was tagged before the runner. Has both base runners return to their original bases, then tells them both to advance to the next base. Next batter hits a blooper over 2nd. Guy on 3rd scores, game over.

    Was only calling the batter out and awarding the base runners a free base the right call or did the ump just want the game over? It was a few minutes over the time limit.
     
  2. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8,373
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    since there was no force out anywhere and there was no caught ball, stepping on the bag doesn't mean anything
     
    #2 Joker, Jun 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2018
  3. Dan240

    Dan240 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    33
    I realize stopping on the bag doesn’t count for anything. The runner stopped at that point and got tagged before reaching 2nd. Shouldn’t that have been an out since the runners are suppose to advance with caution?
     
  4. EAJuggalo

    EAJuggalo Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    35
    Second out on the infield fly which probably shouldn't have been called. Then I've got the third out on the tag. Inning over. Even if the umpire screwed up and called it dead, there is absolutely no way you can advance the runners in that situation.
     
  5. lb16

    lb16 the natural

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    15
    A. Ump probably shouldn't have called infield fly with 1st baseman playing deep and ball hit weekly short of 1st base.
    B. With ump calling infield fly with runners advancing at their own risk when fielder tagged runner inning should have been over.
    C. Ump screwed up all the way around on this call.
     
    dlsumpntx likes this.
  6. ichiromoco

    ichiromoco Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah inning is over. Once infield fly was called runners are on their own to advance at their own risk. 3rd out is on the tag. Nothing else to discuss. Period.

    You can debate all you want whether he should have called an infield fly or not but that is the umpires discretion. He called it. Your baserunners didn't do what they were supposed to do. End of story.
     
  7. JP21

    JP21 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    16

    This right here

    I don't see why this is not clear.
     
  8. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8,373
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    it is clear
     
  9. trippy1313

    trippy1313 Starting Player

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    17
    I actually understand this one too. Lol.
     
  10. EdFred

    EdFred every day I'm shovelin'

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,277
    Likes Received:
    88
    Since we are talking about weird IFF scenarios...

    Ball popped up on infield. Fielder decides to let it drop to see if the runners go even if they don't have to. Ball hits the ground, runner tries to advance and then the ball hits runner. Batter AND runner out? Batter out only? Runner out, dead ball, batter placed on first? Other?
     
  11. lb16

    lb16 the natural

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    15
    If ump called infield fly batter is out, if ball was not past fielder you have runner hit by ball out as well all other runners returned to base they were at.
     
    JStout863 likes this.
  12. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp My backpack’s got jets

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,656
    Likes Received:
    203
    ^^^^
    This.
     

Share This Page