Any Intentionally dropped ball?

Discussion in 'Ask the Umpire' started by Arrgh, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp My backpack’s got jets

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,638
    Likes Received:
    191
    blakcherry329 likes this.
  2. RNRPLZ

    RNRPLZ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    5
    It has nothing to do with any association I would think, but USA/ASA intentionality dropping a ball in order to turn a double play, if it was blankly a dropped ball. Batter is out runners stay in their position. Second offense the unsportsmanlike rule would be called and the player committing the act would be ejected from the game. It don’t have to be any local league rule. If the same team makes this a habit, a few ejections and forfeits will end it rather quickly.
     
  3. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    yes the association matters
     
  4. AH23

    AH23 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    53
    Please don't make **** up. There is NO RULE EFFECT for an ejection for an intentionally dropped ball first, second, or fifth offense. USA is 8.2.K and Rule supplement 30.
     
  5. JStout863

    JStout863 WSL National UIC

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,874
    Likes Received:
    234
    USSSA - Rule 7, Sec 2.H

    The batter is OUT if:
    He hits a fair fly ball or line drive that an infielder intentionally drops, with a runner on first, runner on first and second, first, second and third, or on first and third with less than two outs.
    NOTE: A trapped ball that hits the ground is never ruled intentionally dropped.
    EFFECT Sec. 2. H.
    The umpire shall immediately call the batter out (in a forceful manner) and the ball is dead.
     
  6. JStout863

    JStout863 WSL National UIC

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    19,874
    Likes Received:
    234
    The rule is the same in WSL
     
  7. BretMan

    BretMan Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    The association DOES NOT matter as far as when the rule applies (bases occupied and number of outs), or the penalty if it happens (dead ball, batter out, runners return). That part is universal to all softball and baseball rule sets.

    The association DOES matter when it comes to how they each define what constitutes an intentionally dropped ball. Some say that the ball must first be caught before it can be considered as dropped. Others say that the ball can't be manipulated to the ground in any way, such as letting the ball hit the back of the glove.

    USA softball is one of those that say the ball must first be caught before it can be dropped. But, if you check the plays and clarifications published on their website, they have a case play where the fielder "lets the ball enter the pocket of his glove" then drop to the ground. Hmmm...that doesn't satisfy the definition of a catch...but they call it an intentional drop anyway.
     
    blakcherry329 and Dogue like this.
  8. blakcherry329

    blakcherry329 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,329
    Likes Received:
    331
  9. EAJuggalo

    EAJuggalo Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    34
    Don't I know it. Kind of funny to see that post from 6 years ago when I first started, I have since caught that same UIC giving me bad information, even to the point of telling me that there was not OE at E Nationals last year. I am attending a National Rules clinic this saturday with the National UIC. I believe he will cover this as well, if not I'll ask. I was told a rule interpretation last year by two Conference umpires that directly contradicts what is written in the book. I hope to get some clarification on a few of these.
     
  10. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp My backpack’s got jets

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,638
    Likes Received:
    191
    And sometimes, some of the finer points of the rules can be subject to interpretation. And sometimes, one UIC's opinion may differ from that of another UIC.

    But when rules are written in black and white with no room for interpretation, it behooves the UIC to at consistently apply these rulings as written when called upon. Otherwise, what's the friggin' point?
     
  11. EAJuggalo

    EAJuggalo Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    34
    Direct from the National UIC. The ball has to hit the glove to be considered intentionally dropped. It doesn't have to be caught, it can be batted or directed, but it must be touched.
     
  12. BretMan

    BretMan Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    The most common example in case plays that I've seen is if a fielder lets the ball hit the back of his glove to knock the ball to the ground. For the majority of rule sets, this would be ruled as an intentionally dropped ball.

    In USA softball it would not be, since the ball wasn't first caught (or, if you believe their website, the ball didn't hit the pocket of the glove).
     
    AH23 likes this.
  13. ilyk2win

    ilyk2win Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,136
    Likes Received:
    94

    Are these 2 statements contradicting each other? As a new USA umpire, I want to make sure I have this call correct as I see it happen around here more than I care to.
     
  14. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    EA is an USSSA ump, bretman is USA/ASA
     
    AH23 and ilyk2win like this.
  15. A Salt Weapon

    A Salt Weapon Starting Player

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    2
    I do this every chance I have, it's part of the game in my opinion. Don't want to get doubled up? Don't hit a liner to me at SS, I will let it hit the back of the mitt every single time and turn it. I'll do it at pitcher in coed too.
     
  16. BretMan

    BretMan Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    39
    As I noted in my first post, different sanctioning bodies have different definitions of a dropped ball. Some say it has to be caught first, others don't.
     
  17. ilyk2win

    ilyk2win Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,136
    Likes Received:
    94
    Yeah Joker clarified for me. I thought you were both USA. Thank you!
     
  18. JackoDaddy5

    JackoDaddy5 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    You guys are all looking at the wrong rule book.

    Church Co-ed league: Look in the Bible. Intentionally dropped ball sends you straight to hell.
     
  19. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    7,981
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    you waited a couple weeks to say that?
     
    blakcherry329 likes this.

Share This Page