Hi, This is my first post but I found this forum a few weeks ago and have enjoyed reading some of the discussions. I play slow-pitch rec league with NSA rules. I had a play happen to me tonight where I swore the umpire was wrong but want some other people's interpretations. There was a man on 1st, I was on 2nd and the batter hit a ground ball to the third baseman. I started running but then stopped as he was trying to tag me because I didn't want to give him an easy out. I may have run a few steps back to 2nd base. Instead of continuing to pursue me, he threw to 2nd to get the runner out going from 1st. I then ran on by and went to 3rd base. The umpire said I was out too (along with the force out at 2nd) since I made an attempt to run back to 2nd base. I argued that I never went back and touched second and once he threw the ball they would have had to tagged me out since my force was off. We were all dumbfounded at his call. My argument was that's why you have pickles (rundowns) and the runner isn't automatically out just for going back one direction. Did the umpire get this wrong or have I misunderstood this rule? Thanks for your input.