Any touching bases

Discussion in 'Ask the Umpire' started by jonsey, Nov 18, 2017.

  1. jonsey

    jonsey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree 100%, it really gets frustrating in trying to find the CORRECT ANSWER I would bet if I sent the same scenario to the 1/2 dozen listed UIC's on their web page that I would get different answers
     
  2. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp "Honey"

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,566
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well, it's not terribly surprising, in all honesty. Some sports are more cut-and-dry on what is or isn't allowed, like volleyball. Was the ball in? Was the back row attacker's foot over the line?

    Softball, on the other hand, is a much more dynamic sport that has evolved over time, and each person in charge will have his/her own take on whether a particular act is considered "fair play." Just consider the differences between associations on what's considered an "intentionally dropped ball," and you'll see what I mean.

    I'll see if we can run this one up the flagpole, but keep in mind that if I do get an answer, it will only be for USA Softball. NSA may have a different perspective, as may USSSA.
     
  3. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp "Honey"

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,566
    Likes Received:
    157
    All right, guys, I ran it up the flagpole, and it arrived on the desk of a member of the National Staff within USA Softball (ASA). The answer coming back down my way is that the runner does not have to retouch the base.

    The explanation we were given is this. The runner started off in possession of second base. He owns it. And he is not required to run in any particular direction from second base, he's only required to A) not interfere and B) not get hit while off the base. This isn't the case of a runner attempting to retreat to first base, which is where the rule regarding touching the bases in a particular order comes into play.

    So no, he does not have to retouch.
     
    defos likes this.
  4. Comp

    Comp Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which doesnt exactly jive with the case play I posted either. If the runner "owns" the base after touching it, then why would the case play indicate the runner must retouch the base before advancing because they stepped over the top of it while returning?
     
  5. AH23

    AH23 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    20
    That's because in your case play the runner was advancing (started on 1B) and returning, then advancing again. In this play, runner started on 2B and was avoiding the batted ball.
     
  6. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp "Honey"

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,566
    Likes Received:
    157
    Exactly, and that's the big difference here. In your scenario, the baserunner must touch the base as part of running the bases in reverse order. That is not what's happening here in the OP.
     
  7. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    693
    your case, runner started on 1st not 2nd
     
  8. AH23

    AH23 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    20
    We are fortunate to have Joker here to point out the **** we haven't already pointed out.
     
  9. Sully

    Sully Wanna buy jerseys/rings?

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,295
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thanks. While I appreciate the back and forth and seeing people's points and their reasoning on a rules question, it is always good to have what USA Softball says is the correct interpretation on something not clearly spelled out in the rules.
     
  10. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    693
    I called this correctly awhile ago. so good thing I was here
     
  11. RNRPLZ

    RNRPLZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nowhere does this situation dictate that the runner was attempting to retreat anywhere but out of the way of danger. No ruling no appeal granted.
     
  12. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    693
    glad you cleared that up
     
  13. jonsey

    jonsey New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    lmao, Joker I hope your shoulde isn't sore, from patting yourself on it
     
  14. irishmafia

    irishmafia Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,493
    Likes Received:
    62
    I have no problem with that ruling by your source (though I'm not a big fan :) )

    My issue is that USA has rules which require a runner to perform in a manner that is not prescribed in the rules based on the sole ASSUMPTION that everyone should know what it is. Nor has there been an interpretation or case play addressing a possible violation and effect based upon the intention, or lack of, in why the runner moved one way or the other. The teachings have always been if the runner goes in one direction and reverses, all bases must be touched. The cause of the runner's action has not been addressed.
     
  15. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    693
    you're wrong, let it go
     
  16. FatBoy28

    FatBoy28 SBF is a cruel Mistress

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    3
    I find myself agreeing with Joker more and more the older I get.
    Can't decide if this means I should give up SBF or take up drinking.
     
  17. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp "Honey"

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,566
    Likes Received:
    157
    Become an umpire. That'll be reason enough to drink.

    See: my avatar.
     
    EAJuggalo likes this.

Share This Page