Turning into field of play after overrunning 1st.

Discussion in 'Ask the Umpire' started by MPT23, Oct 27, 2018.

  1. MPT23

    MPT23 Putting on the foil

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    304
    Was told as long as you dont make an attempt toward 2nd, that this is ok ? Need clarification, tia.
     
    bird25 likes this.
  2. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp My backpack’s got jets

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,670
    Likes Received:
    211
    That is correct. The direction you turn in makes no difference. All that matters is whether the runner actually attempts to advance towards second base.
     
  3. MPT23

    MPT23 Putting on the foil

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    304
    Thank you
     
  4. irishmafia

    irishmafia Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,726
    Likes Received:
    133
    Should be noted that ANY movement, even something as slight as a dip of the shoulder could be considered an attempt. It is completely the umpire's judgment and is not debatable.
     
    Redsfan likes this.
  5. Hiltz

    Hiltz Oozing with... something.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Which is why players should never turn left if they aren't making an attempt at 2b. Not a rule, but a good habit to get into.
     
    sftballr24, blakcherry329 and Redsfan like this.
  6. Redsfan

    Redsfan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    115
    Irish and Hiltz are correct. Don't leave it up to an ump to interpret what you are or aren't trying to do. I've seen several players get rung up because if a small movement towards 2B. If you don't turn left you will have nothing to worry about.
     
  7. irishmafia

    irishmafia Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,726
    Likes Received:
    133
    What I teach at clinics is that if you (umpire) get a gut feeling that you need to head toward 2B for a possible call, that is an indication the runner made an attempt
     
  8. EAJuggalo

    EAJuggalo Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    35
    And don't leave the field of play when you are turning to the right either. Had that happen this year at a State Tournament. BR hit 1B and kept running while turning right, ended up outside the fenceline while there was a play on another runner.
     
  9. r8dr_rider

    r8dr_rider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    50
    Very subjective. Sometimes a player may take a quick step toward 2nd and could be seen and an advance attempt. Always turn to right unless you know where the ball is and if you are thinking of taking 2nd
     
  10. NCASAUmp

    NCASAUmp My backpack’s got jets

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,670
    Likes Received:
    211
    Thanks for contributing to a question that was already answered almost 3 months ago.
     
    MPT23 and r8dr_rider like this.
  11. Hiltz

    Hiltz Oozing with... something.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    ^^^ Lol! Getting in touch with your inner Joker?

    (I almost posted the exact same response.)
     
    blakcherry329 and r8dr_rider like this.
  12. r8dr_rider

    r8dr_rider Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    50
    So apparently I didn’t listen to my own advice (albeit 3 months after it was already answered)

    I hit the ball 5-6 gap, but last minute SS grabbed it. As I ran thru first I literally took a quick left foot step (think of a football juke) into the field of play and looked left but saw the ball thrown to 1st, so I quickly turned right and rounded the base. The other team started yelling at the 1B man to tag me and I didn’t try to hurry to the bag since I was already walking back after rounding to the right. He tagged me, I’m out.

    In my head I knew what I wanted to do but in reality the blue didn’t. My quick left foot step shouldn’t have been seen as an attempted advance. Regardless I was called out and game was over and we lost. But hey I hit a grand slam that game too
     
  13. irishmafia

    irishmafia Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,726
    Likes Received:
    133
    I'm sure the 1B coach helped with direction, right? :)
     
  14. Hiltz

    Hiltz Oozing with... something.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,030

    You made a move toward 2b, realized after the fact that it was a bad idea, then tried to play it cool and act like you were returning to first all along. Blue saw through it and made the correct call.

    Once you make any motion that indicates that you're trying to advance, you can't change your mind and stroll back to 1b like it never happened.
     
  15. AH23

    AH23 Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    55
    Wrong, your quick step SHOULD HAVE and WAS seen as an attempt to advance. The other team thought so as did the umpire.
     

Share This Page