What's the correct call?

Discussion in 'Ask the Umpire' started by Sailorjoe6308, Dec 5, 2018 at 9:39 PM.

?
  1. The umpire

    1 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. The team members

    3 vote(s)
    75.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Sailorjoe6308

    Sailorjoe6308 New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    During a recent game a team member hit the ball and it landed and stopped in the batter's box. The umpire called him out for it hitting him stating that the ball was in fair territory when it made contact with him. He then drew a line in the box from the third base line at an angle through the batter's box. He then reiterated that the team member was out. We have a few people on the team who play upper level tournament ball and ball in Asia who started that the ball striking him in the batters box regardless of where the ball ultimately lands unless rolling into the field of play is a foul ball. Is this correct? Not trying to cause a fuss or anything. The umpire is one that has been reprimanded on several occasions for making biased calls and not being impartial due to his feelings towards a player on a team or thT team in general. I just was curious what the rule actually states and what the rule number is or where to find it. Thank you for your time and assistance.
     
  2. Hagen49

    Hagen49 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    23
    In every rulebook I have ever seen the rule is a foul ball hitting a batter in the box OS nothing more than a foul ball. The only time this should result in an out is if the batter has maxed out their foul balls.
     
  3. Sailorjoe6308

    Sailorjoe6308 New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The count was 3-1. We eventually lost the game but finished under protest. Because of our league by-laws if the protest is deemed correct the game and any other potential games for the losing team, if in end of season tournament, must then be replayed. I was just curious if our protest had a leg to stand on.
     
  4. lb16

    lb16 the natural

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    17
    If batter hit ball and immediately ball hit him while in box, if so you have a dead ball foul ball.
     
  5. DeputyUICHousto

    DeputyUICHousto Addicted to Softballfans

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    13
    Part of the batter's box is in fair territory...see image

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Joker

    Joker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8,408
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    no where in your first sentence does it say the ball hit the batter. did the ump imagine that? did the ball hit the ground and come to rest then the batter kicked it? did the ball hit the batter off the bat? did the ball hit the ground then bounce and hit the batter?
     
  7. Hiltz

    Hiltz Oozing with... something.

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    885
    ^^^ Missing the most important details but lets everyone know that the ump has a personal vendetta and that he knows guys that played in Asia.
     
  8. watsonrg

    watsonrg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    From the OP, "The umpire called him out for it hitting him stating that the ball was in fair territory when it made contact with him."

    However the ump still made the wrong call.

    Here's a discussion I started two years ago. Similar to this but different:

    http://forums.softballfans.com/threads/conflicting-rules.1434466/

    And here is the reply that should be this to bed:

    http://baseball-rules.com/batterbox.htm
     
  9. watsonrg

    watsonrg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. lb16

    lb16 the natural

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes there is always fair territory in batters box. Regardless if batted ball struck batter after batter swung and hit ball unless batter did something intentionally to hit ball, regardless if he was struck in fair or foul part of box you still have foul ball.
     

Share This Page