Should I buy a used composite psycho

daveccarsley

Hey everyone,

This is my first post. I am a coach/player of a softball (slow pitch) team in Michigan. Our season has about a month left on it. We are a first year team of young guys who seem to all have 25 or 30 dollar "hammers" and so on. Yesterday we had a guy sub for us, and he brought a Miken Psycho. Now I had seen the other teams that hit all the bombs have these bats, but to hit with it, and feel it in my hands, as well as seeing my players hit bombs who normally cant make it past the shallow outfield, I WANT ONE. I went to Dunhams today, as well as ****'s Sporting goods, and had no luck finding a new one. I did however, find a used one at Play it again sports" for $80. it is one of the White USSSA (OK for my league) Ones which I believe is a 2011 model. My questions is, I don't really know what to look for in a carbon fiber/composite bat. I know if it were aluminum I would be looking for denting etc. I don't know how to tell if this one still has pop or not. One thing I can tell you is it has definitely been used. most of the writing is still visible, but its definitely very scratched up and well used. In fact, the words "supermax" which I believe belong at the top, are no longer visible. I've heard composite bats get hotter with age. Does this stop at a certain age. What do you guys think? I wouldn't mind buying a new one, but I feel like with only 2 7 inning games a week for a month, then a tournament, I may not have time to break in a new one. Thanks in advance.

PPC#12

Manager
These guys are being D***s. Are you looking for a home run bat or a line drive bat. My psycho is a good home run bat. It has more pop than my blackouts but my blackouts have better exit speed for line drives. Good luck

Go for it with the used bat. There are better deals to be had out there but this is a good starting point for you and your team, especially considering how many games you have left in the season.