Current knuckleballers

Normy

I'm sure there are other threads but didn't feel like digging through the archives. I've been throwing mine for 2 years now and it's good when thrown right. Which is only half the time if I'm lucky. I grip with all four fingernails(cut short) just above the seam. Stiff wrist then flick the ball out at release. How often do you throw and how do you guys grip the knuckle? Any advice for making this pitch more consistent?

I realize that everybody will have a different answer and that's fine...I'll try them all. I also realize that the peanut gallery will have their say because pitching threads are stupid. That's ok too. Troll on!

hitless45

Addicted to Softballfans
I grip it probably most unconventionally as i have somewhat smaller hands.. I rarely dig nails but when I do I place fingers in different positions/areas of the ball sometimes along the seams as you do as well as into the seams I also throw /grip it no where near seams and again all over/different positions on the ball..

Most times I hold /grip it literally on three of my fingers/knuckles tucked under with my thumb and pinky out to the sides and position my hand/wrist in various positions slightly cocked and no flick..

I find myself throwing knuckles almost exclusively if/when I am struggling to throw strikes, sometimes it is the only thing I can get over the plate and as I mentioned in on of the other pitching threads I have the most success (movement) when wind is blowing straight at me.

Country469

Tuck your index and middle fingers in so the first knckle and your nails are about flush to the ball, and flick your fingers out as you release toward home. the drag on the ball from the fingers will cause the knuckle action. Easier to control that way for location. Yes, I have pitched competitively or a long ass time and this works.

MEATLOAF76

Addicted to Softballfans