First Base Mitt with Good Palm Padding?

j.grizzle

Utility Guy
I recently started playing first base in slow pitch leagues consistently enough to go out and buy a first base mitt. I picked up a Rawlings GG Elite and while I like the glove, it does leave a lot to be desired especially in the palm padding. Are there more improvements in this area once you climb the quality ladder? Maybe another manufacturer would be better?

Looking for something 13" or bigger
DCT Pattern
Quality Leather
Price not really an issue, but would love to be between $3-400

jkwoody22

League ball huer
They are hoh but are the horween leather which is generally a stiffer leather, you can go the custom route, if you contact Chad @milocoman, he might be able to do memeber pricing on a rawlings custom, or a stock one in the store, no discount on the horween as they are limited release, but all these options should be In your price point for a dct, one thing I did when i first started playing first base was to use a palm guard glove, it was a padded batting glove basically, I also bought mole skin first aid padding and stuck that inside my glove in the palm area, now when the adhesive finally gave out it ruined the leather, but it was an inexpensive glove that ultimately got replaced by an a2000 with a palm pad

Last edited:

j.grizzle

Utility Guy