How do you keep your body intact over the course of a weekend tournament?

y-o-y

** I posted this same question on Reddit at r/softball, so if cross-posting is against the rules, please delete this - and if you replied over there you can ignore this one! **

After a nearly 20 year break, at age 46, I started playing in a local league this season. I am pretty healthy so despite my age (and the degraded speed that comes with it), I still play in the outfield and I run the bases pretty hard.

My team plays two games every Sunday, sometimes with an hour between games, sometimes back-to-back. Early season I was pretty sore the next day, but now my body has adjusted to the pattern and I am sure to get everything warmed up and loose before play with a focus on my lower half.
This past weekend, we had a 90 minute break between games and my body freaked the f out. Knees, hips, hamstrings all went nuts the first time I hit the gas to track down a liner in the gap.

I have 2 weekend tournaments coming up, 4 GG each. With more play and longer waits between games, I am not confident my body is going to hold up without employing some specific strategies and tactics to help.

What does the collective wisdom of this forum recommend I do to keep my body operational during these weekend tournaments?
(The answer for next season is "incorporate sprinting into my regular fitness program so your body is adapted" but that won't help me next weekend!)

TWmccoy

3DX Connoisseur
I'm not quite as old as you (42), but I feel the pull of old age while playing softball as well.

Hydration is probably the most important thing. If you aren't drinking enough water you'll notice stiff/sore muscles and joints, like you mentioned. Dehydration happens fast. You can go from feeling great to feeling weak and sore in no time. Make sure you drink at least a liter of water before your first game, and continue through the day as needed.