Here is the situation, and I haven't seen any post like this. R1 is on 2nd base, batter hits a sharp ground ball to shortstop who has a clean opportunity to field the ball but boots it with the ball bouncing back toward home plate. R1 takes off toward 3rd base, but the shortstop collides with R1 when trying to recover the ball he just misplayed. R1 is called out by the HP umpire for interference. Should this not have been called as an obstruction on the shortstop since the ball had passed R1 and the shortstop had a clean chance to make the play?