Pro Ms in Viera (continued observations)

TWmccoy

3DX Connoisseur
In numerous other threads I've posted about Pro Ms and my experiences with them in various places. Everywhere from TX, CO, or FL. Initially, I was a fan of the Pro M when it came out in 2019. Hitting the ball in FL I saw great results, and it was a noticeable step up from the ZN classic Ms Viera had used before.

Oh, how times have changed. The Pro Ms of 2021 absolutely suck. These balls are so bad I'd almost beg for the ZN classic Ms back. I don't know what's going on with Dudley's QC these days, but the Pro Ms I've seen this year ARE NOT the same ball that came out in 2019. Newer Pro Ms are mushy, dead, and seem to knuckle excessively off the bat. I find that I have a very hard time generating backspin with them, and everything I hit knuckles and dies very short.

I've played in Viera twice in the last month (and go again in 2 weeks). Both times the ball was abysmally bad. I played in 40+ events, so senior bats were allowed, and the (temp) fences were set at 300' (usually 325'). Even at reduced field size the Pro Ms were very hard to hit out. I found that I absolutely had to step on balls to get them past 300'. Senior bats seemed to make a difference and produce better distance, but that's somewhat beside the point.

Last weekend was military worlds. I played on white Rawlings and Demarini. Both of these fields proved to be absolute dead zones for ball flight. Outfielders were playing like 60' in front of the fence, and at no point were they in danger of getting burned. I miraculously got a ball into the jetstream in RC on white Rawlings and hit one out. It was the only time I even came close to the fence. I used a DC41 that tests right at 220. Even off that bat the ball feels limp and mushy.