Teammates using my bat(s)?

gopher wes

The Rookie
Anyone have issues with teammates using you bats? I have 3 bats that I have paid for on my own or bought with my brother which we then share. I don't mind sharing it sometimes when its a good buddy of mine on the team and he asks to use my bat. It pisses me off when guys just grab my bat and assume it is ok to use it. I didn't buy a $200+ bat and spend time taking BP to break it in so your freeloading ass could just show up and use it. I have a problem with that considering the amount you pay for bats and the limited number of good swings some of the bats have in them.

Any idea how to keep this from happening? I mean, I have put my bat away between at-bats sometimes but it can be hassle(and sometimes it isn't possible when I am a base coach or on-base after a hit). I have asked guys not to use my bats before and they look at me like I just told them I was going to **** their mom. I don't get it.

oilslick58

Addicted to Softballfans
Why would you not want to let your teamates use the very best tool available, meaning the best broken in bat??? You are still a team, right.

On the other side I know how it feels to have your 300 dollar bat destroyed by a teamated who throws the bat at the dugout after striking out. After that incident, I have one bat that is game ready with a rcpt. Everyone is welcome to that bat. My gamer stays in the bag and no one uses it.

saint

Voted '15 Mod of the Year
if they are on the fence, they are free game. otherwise, I keep it in my bag.

Jared717

<font color="Red">Addicted to Softballfans</font>