league fees question

addicted2bats

inb4 the its just league brah, who cares.......

Question regarding abnormally high league fees being collected by manager. Im new to this team, and the league for the most part. I played on 1 team in this league in the past, where fees were about $65 per person. Joined a few new teams after moving closer to this area last fall and a team manager is charging $100 per player to play in this same league (albeit different night).

Team fees for this particular league are $770 per team. We have 13 rostered players. So this guy is making $1300 on league fees alone to cover the $770 league fee and a dozen balls.

I personally dont mind if the manager wants to play for free for all the crap he has to put up with from week to week....but to pocket $500 on top of that? Seems a bit much to me.

Would you just pay it and not say anything, or would you say "F you dude" and be on your way?

Villeson

Addicted to Softballfans
Where I play we have league fees but Umpire fees are separate. We have 2 umps a game and each team pays an umpire. Its in the area of 20-30 bucks a game, lets call it 25, if you play around 20 games that sounds ok. Just a thought.

ddoubler

Addicted to Softballfans
Does that include jerseys? Do you have to pay the umps every game out of team pocket or is that included in the upfront league price?

addicted2bats

ump fees are included in the team fees. So the $770 covers everything, but you provide your own balls.

There are no jersey fees either as the jerseys used are t-shirts that have been used for what i understand to be 3+ years now.

Odog

Addicted to Softballfans
I'd ask to have an open policy about team finances. But really it's 30$ for all those weeks......

addicted2bats

Its not about the money.......its tge principle of this guy making a profit on league ball. I hate empowering crap like that

qwertle8

Addicted to Softballfans
Is he asking for $100 per because he knows some guys won't pay?