Custom Softball Glove Advice For A Newbie

Goliathxero

Extra Hitter
I'm new to softball, but enjoy it enough that I've decided I want to invest in a custom glove. There are a wide variety of manufacturers and prices out there for custom gloves. There are an even wider range of reviews. Obviously the Wilson and Rawlings gloves are nicer than the $150 gloves out there. Are there any middle of the road manufacturers out there? The Wilson and Rawlings gloves seem to be more geared toward baseball. Is it better to have a softball pattern glove verse a baseball pattern or does it matter? Also, most of the higher end gloves stop at 12.75-13". I currently play right field with a cheap off the shelf 13" Louisville glove and do fine. Would I be better off with a 13.5 or 14" glove? Is a 12.75" going to feel drastically smaller than a 13"? Thanks for the advice.

send "A Cy 617" a PM. He is an expert on custom gloves that aren't Wilson or Rawlings. I believe his specialty is M2 and Rodriguez.

CapnBooBox

Addicted to Softballfans
Size-wise, each glove will really be different. Some 12.75 gloves will feel small to you and some will feel close to the size of your current one. My best advice is to find somewhere near you that has a good selection of gloves and go try all of their outfield gloves on.

Brand-wise, Louisville Slugger is underrated and are reasonably priced. Glovesmith customs are cheaper than Wilson/Rawlings and have great leather/quality, but their patterns aren't for everyone. To be honest, you can find amazing gloves for less money than you'll spend on a custom. I say try on different brands and find a model you like. Then come here and search online for a good price. Finding a great Wilson, Rawlings, Nike, Mizuno, etc. for a decent price can be accomplished here if your patient and are looking.

This also may help a little:
http://forums.softballfans.com/showthread.php?t=1292740