Need advice on airing out a glove.......

MaverickAH

So, I always wanted to pick up a Wilson A3000 for my glove collection. I lucked out & picked one up off the 'Bay for a good price. The glove is in excellent condition. It's practically NWOT. There's no evidence of it being conditioned & other than being improperly stored, I highly doubt that it's been used at all.........

The one problem? It smells like it was stored in an ashtray!!! :( I've never smoked so I have no experience with removing the smell from anything. Outside of airing it out for a while, is there anything else to be done?

Jchap

I have read about storing gloves for 2-3 weeks in a plastic bag with coffee grounds, to remove the smoke smell. I have not personally done this, though.

Rous

Addicted to Softballfans
The freezer trick is for mildew, not smoke.

You gotta take it apart and pull out the thumb and pinkie pads. You can wash those with Woolite if they smell bad. Then make a mixture of 50/50 white vinegar and water. Just wipe the glove down with the mixture (inside and out). It may take 3-4 wipe downs. After that, Lexol cleaner and finally Lexol conditioner. Even with really smelly gloves like you are describing, I've been able to get the smell down 90%+. If that is not enough, I'd go with the coffee beans. When I heard some advice about removing smell from a car, it was to fill a couple of cookie sheets with coffee beans, put them in the oven to 300 deg and then place the trays in the footwells for a couple days. Not sure you want to put your glove in 350deg coffee beans! But Maybe you could heat up the beans and then put the glove in them after they cool to 110deg. Or just seal the glove in a box with the hot coffee beans.

And then let us know how it goes!

A Cy 617

Dad, Fire fighter, bat flipper.
What I did once, that worked..

Dunk, let it dry, lexol, repeat again once more.

Good luck either way, keep us updated.

NYC

Swag on 100.