No force out score


New Member
If a player scores and then the third out happens on a no force out is the score kept or considered not a score??


The Great and Powerful Q
Unpacking what you want to know here...

If the third out is on a force (batter-runner being retired, or any other forced runner being retired prior to advancing to the base they were forced to), then no runs score on that play.

On any third out that's not a force scoring is based on the timing of the out. If the run scores before the third out, then count it. If the out occurs before the run crosses the plate then don't count it.

And remember that a runner being "doubled off" for leaving too early on a caught fly ball is not a force.

You didn't specify which ruleset, but for reference, USA softball rule 5.5.B and USSSA Slowpitch rule 4.6.