Noob questions: Japan market gloves

Godsdog

<font color="#00274C">Descendant of Vander Meer</f
I am new to the gloves but it seems that there is a lot of chat around Japan.

I know that Japan has a fantastic reputation for craftsmanship and quality, overall.

I have come across just a few so far, and probably just scratching the surface. I have see pictures of Kubota Slugger and Nike Sha|do Elite online- but what other brands are there for nice Japanese gloves?

What sets these gloves above gloves in other markets? Or, is that even true?

Lastly, how do you get them? Is the bay or sbf marketplace forum the most cost effective methods? How obtainable are they in Japan- as in, can someone go to a sporting goods store like in the US and pick one (or two) up? Depending on the time of year, I may have a contact or two in Japan.

Thanks for taking a look at this post and for the education :)

Last edited:

Camoninja

Addicted to Softballfans
This is my favorite glove that I own. Its a Tamazawa.

20140417_044130_zpsd8619d9e.jpg

20140417_044300_zpsd509bdef.jpg

Godsdog

Easiest way is to know someone. I can give you info on a guy if youd like.

I also have a Sha do elite J vapor 2.0 if your interested

Are there other brands that are well respected?

What is the markup from using a guy you know vs. using the forum vs. ebay, etc.

Some of the Sha|do designs are a work of art (personal opinion)- for example the BF1589 gets me.

$_57.JPG

:biggthumpup:

And, BF1485 (801)...my goodness.

$(KGrHqF,!q8FG8456H!rBRy)4l2rrQ~~60_57.JPG

so, pretty to me.

naphiicon

Addicted to Softballfans
Kubota slugger - just get one, you won't be disappointed if you get a KSG model
MIJ Mizuno - pricey but well worth it
Nike shado elite - the 2012 models were better, the new penis models along with the weird welting isn't as appealing to me, but you might like it.