On the topic of team sposorships/deductions...

petebanta

Addicted to Softballfans
I am self-employed/own my own biz (Web Dev/Marketing), and am thinking of sponsoring our team this year (never had one before), IF I can write it off as deductable expense (like my office/mileage is). My wife/accountant thinks this may be deductable at this level. Wondering...

* Any one else in this situation that does it (Plumbers, Carpenters, etc.)?

* What expenses are deductable? Fees? Shirts? Equipment? Would <3 to buy some nice bats for team and write them off! (Probably wishful thinking...)

* Documentation required? Would think so...

Any other info/experience on the subject/related is appreciated...

MorganGrafixx

Extra Hitter
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I think you are looking at it wrong. Instead of trying to break it out into deductible expenses like Shirts, equipment, Tourney/league fees--you could just lump it all in as one larger amount. All together it could be a Community Enrichment Donation or an advertisement expense. All perfectly fine to write off 100%.

petebanta

Addicted to Softballfans
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I think you are looking at it wrong. Instead of trying to break it out into deductible expenses like Shirts, equipment, Tourney/league fees--you could just lump it all in as one larger amount. All together it could be a Community Enrichment Donation or an advertisement expense. All perfectly fine to write off 100%.

I like your thinking, but has anyone pulled this off for a $300 bat? ;)

BaySickClothing

The Veteran
What he's saying is it doesn't have to be a write-off for a $300 bat, but more like a $1,000 (or whatever) write-off for "advertising" and that $1,000 happens to include league fees, jerseys, a bat etc etc

jfatlegs

Addicted to Softballfans
Yep, I do it as advertising; no breakdown necessary. If you're concerned about it being a gray area, ask your CPA...

eHall

Base burglar