Question About The DS

snaggs1917

Addicted to Softballfans
I bought a DS about a month ago and the weather finally got nice enough to take it out for some BP. My question is do these things take a little bit to break in i put about 70 swings on it and it opened up a little but not a great deal. I have been swinging combats now for about 4 years and never had one feel so stiff and not open up in around 50 swings so is it just a matter of it needing more swings to get it broken in. Another thing i noticed is that the swing weight feels a little different than my other combats so are these two issues i am having pretty normal and i just need to be patient with the bat and it will be smashing the piss out of the ball after getting some swings on it. If you guys could give me some advice that already have a DS in terms of how long it take to get broken in and get really hot and how you broke it in would be greatly appreciated.

BIG 3

Addicted to Softballfans
big difference in the endload of the ds compared to most combats.................I'd say no more than 100 hits you should be good to go bro, stick w/it the ds is one of the best combats out there..............

bat monger

Combat Advisory staff
50-150 swings is about right. Try a few more. Should web up soon. Maybe the bat doesn't fit your swing if it still doesn't feel right after another 100 cuts or so.

BIG 3

Addicted to Softballfans
endload maybe too much, I may have to take this off your hands............:rolleyes:

oilslick58

Addicted to Softballfans
I disagree.

Of the ..............7 and counting DS plagues I have loved and abused, all took at least 300 to become ..............game ready.
I do have a personal theory. This has cost me a few bats, but I believe that colder weather......not freezing, but within reason......bp actually breaks in a bat quicker and doesnt seem to shorten its life.