Swing Help

Hambo

Starting Player
So I'm brand new to SBF (got turned onto the forums by my bro-in-law) but have been playing semi-competitvely for about 4 years now.

I would consider myself an above average player. I play just about any and every position and can do better than the average player in our league. The same goes for hitting. I hit for a solid average (.500-.750) with sporadic home runs. The problem is that most of my outs are mid to deep flyballs.

So here's where I need some help... How can I hit for power more often? I know I'm strong enough to hit HRs. When I really tag one, I can send it out with ease. The problem is that I can't seem to do this consistently.

I think my issue has something to do with my swing technique. I swing the bat the way I used to swing a baseball bat. Should I be doing something different for softball? Upgrading bats definitely helped but I'm still not where I want to be.

I know part of the probmlem is that I get anxious at the plate and rush/overswing.

My team regularly leaves HRs on the table every week. I feel like if I could turn those flyball outs into HRs (or at least hard liners) we could easily win 2-3 more games per season.

Any ideas?

daville_guy

Addicted to Softballfans
You can purchase a DVD that has a primary focus on slowpitch softball hitting, one of which is Swing Mechanics.
You can post a video of yourself swinging in the 'Softball Media' site and other board bros will critique your swing, attire and mannerisms.
You can lift weights and become stronger.
You can practice off a Tee and/or live BP and attempt to resolve your deficiencies.
You can quit
You can 'upgrade' your bats more. ( I do not agree with rolling/shaving bats unless you are playing church league with Lord7)

Those are a few options that come to mind.

Hambo

Starting Player
You can purchase a DVD that has a primary focus on slowpitch softball hitting, one of which is Swing Mechanics.