Roster check?

cbohrman44

Earnstaf tribute
I've been playing ball for 20+ years now...first time I have ever been a part of this mess.....we were on our 4th game of the day, lost the first game and won the next 2. This team goes up 9 runs in the top of the 1st inning. we come up and put up 3. they come up and put up some more, anyways they go up by about 10-11 runs by the 4th inning. One of the guys on my team knows the pitcher from the opposing team and says he doesn't think he plays for them....Long story short he decides to roster check them. I think it's a terrible idea, mainly because of the timing of the call out....and I think its dumb to call out 1 guy. If we lose we lose, but lets try to win by good ball playing, not a chicken **** roster check. So the roster check is made, he is in fact an illegal player, so they game is over. They are calling us every name under the sun (understandably). The director comes over to make sure our roster is good. It is good to go, however, one guy doesn't physically have his ID on him, it's in his truck in the parking lot. Well you can't leave the field to get it...double forfeit......haha....I had to chuckle and drove my happy butt home.....
Anything like this happen to any of you?

BigWhiffa

Underwear Researcher
we were roster checked during a league tournament. the coach didn't have a solid roster and a bunch of us were picked up midway through the season. so the coach then reciprocated with his own call for a roster check. they had 2 guys who were not on the roster. the director said its probable that we could disqualify all 10 teams in the league if we did a roster check on all of them....there are no egregious players who had no business playing in this league and therefore, he let it slide. The other coach was still mad....but what choice did he have. he was in the wrong too.

It was a pretty hilarious situation to me.