Craziest stuff you've seen playing softball?

Hagen49

So I started playing a new league in the city about a half hour north of where I live last week. This league plays double headers for a majority of the divisions, so the 1st at bat of my 2nd game, I unintentionally ripped a grounder right back up the middle. The 2nd ump, standing at 2nd anticipating a possible play, was standing maybe 20 feet behind the pitcher. The ball takes 2 hops on the turf, and finds the umps uhhh "tender parts". I felt bad 1st of all for shooting middle, and even more so for the ump taking the shot.

What kind of crazy stuff have you guys seen or been part of?

arther itis

payin' to get paid
I've got one for this thread. It happened around 37 years ago at a local softball tournament that was being held at the same time as a Powwow/Celebration.

A non-Native American team from a community 60 miles away came to play at this men's tournament. This team was drinking and they started to get loud. The loudest was the shortstop. In between an inning he told his woman to go to the Powwow/Celebration and get him some food and "to make sure there's no dog meat being served".

His team goes back onto the field on defense and a batter hits a grounder. The grounder takes a bad hop and the shortstop wasn't wearing a protective cup. The ball found him you know where :D

He's writhing on the ground holding his groin and his teammates run over to him. The locals all start laughing and honking their vehicle horns :D

It was a karma classic.

TWmccoy

3DX Connoisseur
Just the other night I saw a woman get drilled in the head with a high pop foul over the fence near the 3B dugout. She was raptly engrossed with her phone and never even looked up when people yelled "heads". Ball nailed her right above the ear.

Paying attention while at the fields is never a bad idea.

Normy