USSSA Offensive Team outside the dugout

Craig #7

Middle's Closed
I'm new to umpiring, but play tourney ball. It is crazy of how much many rules I just don't know.

Situation last night...

The Offensive Team has been out of their dugout in the field of play.

I have a runner on 1st and a ball hit to the OF, runner tries to take 3rd. The OF'er throws ball towards 3rd and overthrows his 3rd basemen. The ball hits the Offensive Team and stays in play.

If the team was not in the field of play the ball would of went into the dugout and the runner would of been awarded home.

I ruled the ball dead and runner to stay put at 3rd.

The Defensive Team states that the closest runner should be called out for interference.

I research the rule after the game and could find anything on this situation. I did happen to find that if the ball would of hit Offensive Equipment the closest runner would of been called out, but not if it hits players outside the dugout.

What would be the correct call?

Sonic625

An Admin
Staff member
Rule 8.5 K

85k.jpg

EAJuggalo

Addicted to Softballfans
If they started the play outside the dugout you never should have allowed the pitch to happen in the first place. If they moved out of the dugout after the pitch then it's absolutely interference and the runner closest to home should have been called out. I'm lucky in that my state added a rule this year stating that if anyone other than the base coaches and on deck batter is in the field of play they are ejected along with the manager, I haven't had a problem yet this year with it.

rhound50

Rec Coed Superstar
We had this happen in a tournament, bottom of the 6th we are up by 1, tying run is going to third. Ball is overthrown to third and hits a player outside the dugout as it rolls into the dugout. Runner at 3rd instead of scoring the tying run is out for his teammates interference, ball game.

BretMan

Addicted to Softballfans